Peplum Pencil Skirt

peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfitpeplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-4peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-6peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-2peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-7peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-3

I may currently be on vacation, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to talk about this ah-dorable work look I have planned!

Note: I may receive commissions from clicks or purchases made through links in this post.

I am a huge Amazon shopper. Yuuuge. Biggest you’ve ever seen. And I’ve been trying to find some work dresses and skirts on there lately, with mixed success. I’ve tried this dress and this one, but they just weren’t good enough.

I decided to give this red peplum skirt a try, and it’s a KEEPER! It’s nice and stretchy and the pretty peplum detail camouflages any problems. And it’s definitely the least expensive pencil skirt I have in my closet! Wearing it with this light blue striped blouse and simple nude heels was the outfit I had in my head when ordering it, and I love how it turned out in real life.

peplum-red-pencil-skirt-office-business-outfit-5

Now before you run out and get it for yourself, let me tell you a few more things. I ordered a medium based off of reviews and the size chart, and when I got it in the mail I thought it fit slightly bigger than I wanted. I threw the skirt in the washer and dryer to get it to shrink a bit, and I got this perfect fit.

Secondly, this item requires careful ironing. After the dryer I had to iron this baby twice to get the peplum looking right, and you might be able to tell in the photos that it’s a little off. The skirt comes in a few other colorways, and if you want to be less precise with ironing, I suggest getting the floral or polka dot so that any wrinkles will be less visible.

My friend is visiting me here in Germany from the states, so today we’re heading to Nuremburg and then Strasbourg, France for a little sightseeing. Follow my Instagram stories to see our travels!

kristin

Linkups: Hello Monday#HowISpringMix It Mondays

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. anjage says:

    Gorgeous skirt!

  2. I just posted a work attire look today too! It also has a blue and white striped blouse. Twins! Love how you went for it with this bold red color. That peplum detail, is just the icing on the cake! Hope you are having a fabulous vacation!

    xoxo Bryanna | Coming in Clutch

    1. Thanks, Bryanna! I love how you described it as icing on the cake…that’s exactly how I think of it!

  3. ee0926 says:

    This skirt is so gorgeous! Throwback to retro Hollywood style. Love you you styled it, you look beautiful!

    xx, Elise
    http://www.sparkleandslippers.blogspot.com

    1. Thanks, Elise! I’m always down for retro vibes!

  4. Virginia says:

    Oh my goodness…I love this skirt! After I started following you I was inspired to start shopping more on Amazon. But, I don’t know how you do it! I felt like I searched and searched and still could only find expensive options or options that I didn’t trust. Do you search for specific things or stumble across them?

    1. Hi Virginia! Thanks for following and I have some tips that might help you when searching…using the filters! If I’m looking for skirt for work for example, I’ll maybe type ‘pencil skirt’ or ‘midi skirt’ in the search box, but then I’ll filter the results for Prime only (I never want to pay for shipping), rated at 4 stars or above, and then I change the price to whatever my max is. In this case it was $20. I think filtering it for highly rated products helps a lot. Then I have a bunch of reviews to read through to help determine my size and if something is cheap and good, or cheap and bad. Another thing I do is click on items that are similar to what I want, and then look at the suggested items below. Sometimes you find good things that way. I hope this helps!

  5. Red Peplum Skirt. WOW. Superb it is. Love it to core.Great way of styling.
    -Vaishali
    http://www.vivaciouswish.com/2017/03/12/savannah/

    1. Thank you! It looks so much more expensive than it is!

  6. GORGEOUS—OFF-WHITE OVER RED!!!! yOU DONE MADE IT HAPPEN! WOW! SURE BRIGHTENED UP MY BLOGGING TIME!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

